[Quietly Scheming]Some Thoughts and examples on making Custom Flex Charts simpler

I spend a lot of time on flexcoders helping people learn how to write custom extensions to the flex charting components. And while most of the time people are able to reach their goal, there is a steep learning curve they have to ascend first. So last week, in the middle of writing a typical reponse to a charting question, I had a thought on how we might make simple charting extensions easier in the next release.

Interested? Read about it, and see some examples, over here.

6 Responses to [Quietly Scheming]Some Thoughts and examples on making Custom Flex Charts simpler

  1. tonjo says:

    Spring Graph, Looking for an XML example that calls a graphic.

  2. ismail123 says:

    can u provide me a sample code for dividing a bubble chart into four quadrants.

  3. spycode says:

    grettrtre

  4. spycode says:

    Really Sorry for the previous comment. Computer got stuck up.

  5. Nathan says:

    Hello, I am trying to add labels (sort of like tooltips, but persistent) to a flex bubble chart. Right now, I am trying to use the chart’s annotation elements to do this. I have written my own chart element that I can add to the annotation elements, but I seem to only be able to render the element if I draw with Graphics. If I try to add other components (ie. Label) as children, the components do not render! Is it possible to add components to ChartElements like this? If so, any clue as to what I am doing wrong? If not, is there a way to render text using a Graphics object? Or is there an entirely different approach to accomplish what I am trying to do? Right now I am using Flex 2.

    Thanks,
    Nathan

  6. Adil Majeed says:

    How to build Waterfall Chart and MerriMikko Chart?

Leave a Reply

